تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

الفعاليات

The Official Launch of the QICDRC Mediation Service

The Official Launch of the QICDRC Mediation Service

تجمع الندوة كوكبة من الخبراء في مجال الوساطة يناقشون عبر جلسة حوارية عن إطلاق خدمات الوساطة الأولى في دولة قطر بالإضافة إلى مناقشة أثر اتفاقية الوساطة السنغافورية المصادق عليها مؤخرا.

المتحدثين

القاضية فرانسيس كركهام قاضية بمحكمة قطر الدولية

عملت السيدة كركهام كمحامية إلى أن تم تعيينها كقاضي في المحاكم الإنجليزية مختصة في مسائل تكنولوجيا المعلومات والبناء، حيث شغلت ذلك المنصب إلى عام 2011. تشغل السيدة كركهام منصب قاضي في محكمة قطر الدولية، بالإضافة إلى عملها كوسيطة ومحكمة معتمدة في النزاعات المحلية والدولية.

سلطان العبدالله الشريك المدير في مكتب سلطان العبدالله ومشاركوه

التحق الأستاذ سلطان العبدالله بمهنة المحاماة قبل ما يقارب 22 عامًا، حيث يباشر بشكل أساسي الاستشارات المتعلقة بالمسائل التشريعية والنزاعات الكبرى. ويمّثل الأستاذ سلطان موكليه أمام جميع درجات المحاكم في دولة قطر وكذلك في قضايا التحكيم المحلية والدولية. وقد مثل الأستاذ سلطان أمام عدد من هيئات التحكيم الدولية كخبير في القانون القطري، كما باشر عدداً من القضايا التحكيمية كمحّكم. وقد تمت تسميته كمحكم في قائمة المحكمين بالمركز الدولي لتسوية منازعات الاستثمار (الاكسيد) استناداً إلى أحكام اتفاقية المركز وذلك لمدة ست سنوات اعتبارًا من مايو 2019.

جورج ليم وسيط دولي

شغل منصب رئيس جمعية القانون في سنغافورة ( 1998-1999 ). يرأس حاليا المركز السنغافوري للوساطة ، بالإضافة إلى عضويته في مجلس إدارة المعهد الدولي للوساطة. مثل سنغافورة كخبير في مجال الوساطة في لجنة الأمم المتحدة للقانون التجاري الدولي.

و هو أيضا محرر مشارك في الوساطة في سنغافورة ، الدليل العلمي.

بروفيسور زاكاري كالو أستاذ القانون في كلية القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة

البروفيسور زكاري كالو، عضو هيئة التدريس واستاذ القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، أستاذ القانون بجامعة نوتردام في استراليا بالإضافة إلى عمله كأستاذ زائر للقانون والاعمال بجامعة اوبن بالمملكة المتحدة. يشغل البروفيسور حاليا عضوية لجنة النزاهة في المعهد الدولي للتحكيم، وبالإضافة إلى عمله الأكاديمي، فقد عمل البروفيسور كالو كمحامي مشارك في مكتب باكلي للمحاماة – واشنطن العاصمة. اختير مؤخرا كمحرر مشارك في مجلة أجابي المختصة بمنشورات القانون والعدالة (جامعة كمبريدج ).

Services

Decorative Pattern

أدوات الوصول

Skip to main content

The Official Launch of the QICDRC Mediation Service

The Official Launch of the QICDRC Mediation Service
Category
Type
November 05 2020 12:30 PM
- November 05 2020 01:20 PM

An esteemed panel of mediation specialists will talk about Qatar’s first administered mediation service as well as the impact of the recently ratified Singapore Convention on Mediation.

Speakers

Justice Frances Kirkham
Judge, QICDRC

Frances practised as a solicitor in England until her appointment as one of the English Technology & Construction Court judges, a post she held until 2011.  Frances is a Justice of the Qatar International Court and Dispute Resolution Centre.  She also works as a mediator, an arbitrator for domestic and international disputes and as an adjudicator.  

Sultan Al-Abdulla
Managing Partner, Sultan Al-Abdulla & Partners

Sultan Al-Abdulla has been in private practice for nearly 22 years. His practice focuses on handling major regulatory matters and complex disputes. As a litigator, he represents clients before all tiers of courts in Qatar up to the Court of Cassation. As part of his arbitration practice, he represented numerous entities in local and international arbitration matters and frequently sits as an arbitrator. In addition, he is frequently called to appear as a Qatari law expert before international arbitral tribunals. Pursuant to the ICSID Convention, he was designated as an arbitrator on the ICSID Panel of Arbitrators for a period of six years with effect from May 2019.

George Lim
International Mediatior

GEORGE LIM, Senior Counsel, was President of the Law Society of Singapore (1998 – 9), and currently chairs the Singapore International Mediation Centre. George serves on the Board of the International Mediation Institute, and was Singapore’s mediation consultant to UNCITRAL, which led to the adoption of the Singapore Convention on Mediation. He is the co-editor of Mediation in Singapore: A Practical Guide.

Prof. Zachary Calo
HBKU College of Law

Zachary R. Calo is Professor of Law at Hamad bin Khalifa University.  He is also Professor of Law (Adj.) at the University of Notre Dame Australia and Visiting Professor of Law and Business at The Open University (UK).  He was an associate attorney with Buckley LLP in Washington DC, is a member of the Qatar Sports Arbitration Tribunal, and serves on the Ethics Committee of the International Mediation Institute.  He is co-editor most recently of Agape, Justice, and Law (Cambridge University Press).

Services

  • Decorative Pattern

    The Court’s independent judiciary is comprised of a civil and commercial court and a Regulatory Tribunal that specialises in regulatory appeals.

  • Decorative Pattern

    The Court administers swift, fair, cost-effective and enforceable judgements in line with global best practice, delivered by a distinguished panel of local and international judges.

  • Decorative Pattern

    The Court offers mediation services to individuals, businesses, and others, whether located in Qatar or abroad. This is a voluntary process involving an independent third party (‘the mediator’) who helps the parties reach an amicable settlement in respect to their dispute.

  • Decorative Pattern

    Through its supervisory arbitrational jurisdiction under Law No 2 of 2017 issuing the Arbitration Law in Civil and Commercial Matters, parties can elect the QICDRC as the “Competent Court” of arbitration to perform various functions in relation to interim measures, enforcement of awards and appeals.

  • Decorative Pattern

    eCourt, QICDRC’s innovative electronic case management system, offers globally-accessible virtual hearing capabilities and live-streaming services.

Decorative Pattern

Subscribe to Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter, so you can be the first to find out the latest news and announcements

Envelope
Decorative Pattern